Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Study Support

Finding the right resources

It is important to carry out a review of the literature for an assignment because it allows you to acquire an understanding of your topic. You can become aware of the key issues, and relevant research that has already been done relating to your topic and find out the latest information.

Searching, evaluating and selecting from the vast range of published information can be a time-consuming process, so it is important to know how to plan and carry out this task effectively.

A literature search needs to be systematic and focused – you are not looking to read everything in a broad area, only things that are relevant to your work.

A literature search must also be evaluative - you need to critically assess each reference found to determine if it is worth pursuing and critically read it.

The aim of the below is to help you to do this. You generally need to work through the following stages:

Define your topic and decide on scope

Clarify the meaning of the topic and particular words, using general or subject specific dictionaries/encyclopaedias if necessary.

If the subject area/topic is too general you may need to choose a specific aspect of it otherwise there will be too much literature for you to read and evaluate. Always check with your lecturers what they are expecting you to cover in the assignment and whether they have set you any parameters to work within.

Draw up a list of keywords

Define your topic in terms of keywords to use for searching the various information sources. There are different ways to approach this task including making lists of words, diagrams or mind maps. Chose a method that works for you.

In order to make your search as comprehensive as possible, you should think about the following:

  • Words that may be used as alternatives for your topic (synonyms) e.g. 'staff or employees' or 'work or employment.
  • Alternative spellings, particularly American ones, e.g. 'labour or labor'.
  • Possible truncations e.g. manage* will retrieve manage(ment), manage(rs) and manage(rial).
  • Broader and narrower terms
  • Layman terms and technical terms

Look at ways to link your keywords. Boolean searching is the name given to the method of searching that uses the words AND, OR and NOT as operators to link keywords in a logical way to include or exclude certain terms.

OR is a good technique to use when there are different ways of expressing the same term, for example 

"heart attack" OR "Myocardial infarction".

Once you have your words, you need to organise them in a way that makes sense to you.

""

If you have a phrase and you want the search engine to treat it as a phrase, the general rule is to enclose it in speech marks, for example "global warming".

Set limits to your search

Set limits to your search, for example:

  • Publication date - how far back do you want to search?
  • Range - what types of publication or documentation do you wish to include? Do you want to include newspaper articles, data sources, statistics for example?
  • Geographical - do you want to limit your search to material relating to a particular country or other geographical area?
  • How much do you need to find - the number of sources you need to consult will depend on the length of assignment and type of assignment.

Draw up a list of sources/databases to search and carry out your searches

Now that you know the subject areas you want to find information on, you can see which sources will contain information on these topics. Sources may be print-based others electronic. We have created subject-specific guides to resources in the Library to help you understand where you can search. As well as providing information about how to obtain material relevant to your subject, they supply links to some of the resources increasingly available electronically.

The Library search engine, Summon, is a quick way to begin your search for subject information and to identify the key sources for your subject.  It allows you to search the Library Catalogue, databases, and collections of e-journals and newspaper articles all at the same time. It's a great starting point for your research. However, you may also need to do more detailed searching via the Library Catalogue tab of our the search box, or via individual electronic databases.

Summon

Different sources will provide you different information:

""

 

  • Instructional books – these are books that take you step-by-step through how to do something.
  • Textbooks- these contain the principles of a subject area and will be central to you learning your topics
  • Monographs - these cover a subject area in great detail
  • Edited books – Each chapter is written by different experts in the area.
  • Reference books – these contain useful facts or information on a specific topic, such as encyclopaedias, dictionaries, indexes etc. 
  • Academic/Scholarly journals: These are written by researchers at universities/centres and contain the results of their research.  They are written to be read by other experts and contain high quality information
    • Easy ways to spot academic journals:
      • Reference list at the end
      • Credentials of authors listed
      • Word ‘Journal’ in the title (not always the case)
      • Split into sections (Introduction, Methodology etc)
      • Similar length to a book chapter

For most assignments, you will need to read a combination of different sources to ensure you are finding all the relevant information. Always keep in mind it it quality not quantity that it key.

Keep a record of your searches.

An essential part of literature searching is keeping accurate, consistent and correct records.

Record all useful references. The useful references should be recorded from print-based sources or marked and downloaded from electronic databases. A detailed record of everything useful you find will enable you to provide an accurate bibliography at the end of your project.

Review progress

It is important to carry out a review of your progress after an initial search.

Have you found material that is likely to be relevant to your topic?

If there seems to be too much or too little, you may need to redefine your topic - and repeat the process.

Evaluate what you have found in terms of relevance, reliability and usefulness. It is the quality, not the quantity of references that counts.

Obtain copies of useful references

It is very important to allow sufficient time to obtain copies of useful references. Most databases will have a mixture of full-text articles and bibliographic citations plus abstracts (summaries) of articles. Check Library Catalogue to see if the Library stocks the items you require. If the items you require are not available in full text via our Library they may be obtained via Inter-Library Loan, but make sure you have enough time before ordering.

Read, evaluate and absorb

The quality of the information you will find when searching will vary enormously depending on the sources you use. Therefore, it is important to evaluate what you have found and read it critically. Some questions to think about:

  • Is this a primary or secondary text? (i.e. is it the original research/source of information or is it an evaluation/summary/discussion text) Both will be useful in your research, you just need to be sure which one you are reading.
  • Is the information relevant?
  • Who is the author?
  • When was it written? (i.e. is it still relevant to today, is it out of date and so should be disregarded or is it seminal (so ground breaking/influential to the research that took place after it was written)
  • Why was it written? (i.e. what influences/biases do you need to be aware of)
  • Are you unintentionally in a 'filter bubble' or 'echo chamber' and missing out on crucial information?
  • Have you discovered a range of diverse authors/opinions?
  • Does it agree / disagree with what you already knew or have read? (i.e. this is normal, you will find respected authors who think very different things to each other and have done indepth research on the topic)
  • What is the evidence? (i.e. make sure you are not just reading the conclusions and that the author is backing up their statements)
  • Are they quoting others work or their own? If they are quoting the work of others, do follow this up and find the original source (if you can) as this will provide you with further context and detail.

Make sure you are noting down the arguments/evidence not just summary sentences so that you can refer in your work to the core of the information source. 

Also make sure you are not reading passively and keep testing yourself. Can you close the source and remember the key things it was mentioning and explain them to someone else. This is a good sign you have understood the source and will help with paraphrasing the work in your assignment. 

Within your notes and whilst you are reading make sure you are separating facts from opinion/interpretation so that you are clear on which is which. Most sources will have a combination of both within them.

Always make sure, when you are reading and making notes from the sources, that you are keeping an accurate record of what you have been reading so that you can do your referencing later. Within this, make it clear whether you have copied a quote from a source or done a summary in your own words as you reference these differently to each other.

Once you have enough relevant and reliable material you will be ready to write.