Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Law job posts
Search for legal jobs and review latest news about various law firms
Law Society Gazette - Jobs
Browse for jobs by practice area and/or region; sign up for email alerts.
Guardian jobs: law and legal jobs
Posts for solicitor roles, paralegal work and graduate traineeships; sign up for email alerts.
Legal Week - jobs
Search or browse by practice area, job type, salary and region; receive email alerts of new postings. See also the Careers Advice tab for tips on improving your CV and other careers advice.
Recruitment firm covering most fields, including law
Includes information on the profession of solicitor, legal education, recruitment, the Gazette and resources on IT and law firms. The directory of solicitors is also accessible via these pages.
Contains information on the profession, training opportunities, as well as the Bar Council's roles and activities. There is also a link to the Bar Council Directory.
Links to the Code of Conduct, law firm search and a Student Information Pact with details on training to be a solicitor.
Researching a law firm
Once you've narrowed your search to specific firms, find out as much as you can about each firm. This will help you decide if the firm is for you, and it will help you in your application.
Law firm websites are a good place to start, Look for practice areas, work culture and information about training programmes.
Research recent cases that the firm has been involved in. This information may be available on the firm's website, and any reported cases can be found on Lexis and Westlaw (using the firm name as a search term).
Find a Solicitor (Law Society)
Includes SRA regulated law firms, individuals and the organisations that contain regulated individuals who choose to be listed, plus non-solicitors who are members of the Law Society's accreditation schemes.
Find firms by practice area and location. Each firm has a profile which includes notable practitioners and significant clients. The Library has print copies of the guide in the Law collection (near Halsburys).
Havers Find a Barrister
Search by expertise, town, junior/QC, or name/set of Chambers.
Employability Skills for Law Students by
Publication Date: 2014-04-20
Unsure what skills employers are looking for or how best to develop and demonstrate them? With coverage of the core academic, practical, and transferable skills that can be gained during your studies, Employability Skills for Law Students will help you develop the employability skills you need to pursue your chosen career on graduation.
Developing Employability for Business by
Publication Date: 2014-01-28
Employability is central to all university study; in an increasingly competitive graduate job market students enter Higher Education with their eyes already fixed on securing a job - their final destination. Written specifically for students, Developing Employability is an outstanding guide to the skills involved in job-hunting and entering the workplace.
"Commercial awareness" is an understanding of the business world and the ability to look at situations from a business or commercial perspective. You can become more commercially aware by keeping an eye on news items from reputable sources,including the sources below. Set up alerts or follow some key resources on Twitter, and you'll have a constant stream of easily digestible commercial awareness.
For additional sources for current awareness, see the Current Awareness tab in this guide.
Inner Temple Blog
free current awareness service that covers new case law, changes in legislation and legal news from England and Wales. It also includes updates on chambers' vacancies and legal events. Use the drop-down list to choose a specific subject category rather than subscribing to the entire blog.
Commerical awareness guides
Tips on developing commercial awareness, from the All About Law site.
BBC Law in Action
BBC radio programme with podcasts, broadcast since 1984.
The Law section on the Guardian newspaper's website has the latest legal news as well as Joshua Rozenberg's blog, which provides in-depth commentary and analysis of legal developments. Sign up for a law news RSS alert or sign up to The Bundle, a weekly email newsletter containing "the Guardian's best law news stories, comment, analysis and blogs".
Timely topics, job postings and more
Collection of briefings on a wide range of legal topics and geographical regions, written by leading practitioners. Register for free membership to view the briefings and to be alerted when new ones are available.