Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing - OSCOLA

Guides in Lexis, Westlaw and Practical Law

Westlaw Topic Overview

Include the author and title and updated date:

Michelle Heeley, ‘Double Jeopardy’, Topic Overview (5 December 2013) <Westlaw> accessed 23 July 2019. 

Practical Law

Articles will have a date, but many Practice Notes will simply say "Maintained', which means continuously updated by the Practical Law editors.  For those, use the current year as the publication date.

Richard Kemp, ‘Practice Note: Demystifying Artificial Intelligence’ (2018) <Practical Law> accessed 11 November 2018. 

Practical Law IP&T, 'Legal Protection of Software' (2020) <Practical Law> accessed 15 April 2020.

Halsbury's Laws of England

Cite the edition, volume and paragraph number, but not the topic:

Halsbury’s Laws (5th edn, 2010) vol 57, para 53

You can find the publication information in Lexis, in either the search results list in the Location column, or, when looking at the section, in the Table of Contents (viewable by clicking 'Table of Contents' on the left part of the screen.

Dictionaries

In the footnote:

print dictionary:

 'no-fault compensation', Oxford Dictionary of Law (7th edn, OUP 2013).

online dictionary: 

'philosophy, n' (OED Online, OUP June 2013) <www.oed.com/view/Entry/142505> accessed 21 August 2013.

Online dictionary in Westlaw or Lexis:

'vicarious liability' (Jowitt’s Dictionary of English Law, 5th edn, Sweet and Maxwell 2019) <Westlaw> accessed 6 May 2021.


In the bibliography:

Oxford Dictionary of Law (7th edn, OUP 2013)

OED Online, OUP June 2013) <www.oed.com/view/Entry/142505> accessed 21 August 2013

Jowitt’s Dictionary of English Law (5th edn, Sweet and Maxwell 2019) <Westlaw> accessed 6 May 2021

Dissertation, thesis

When citing an unpublished thesis, give the author, the title and then in brackets the type of thesis, university and year of completion.

Javan Herberg, ‘Injunctive Relief for Wrongful Termination of Employment’ (DPhil thesis, University of Oxford 1989)

Note:  a dissertation is not usually the best source for information. Check with your lecturer before using this for your work.